Steven Naismith won’t be retrospectively punished for what appeared to be a stamp on Scott Brown during last Sunday’s Celtic v Hearts encounter.

The pair met in Scottish Cup final action, Celtic coming out on top to seal the quadruple treble. But it was far from easy, Hearts losing painfully on spot kicks 4-3.

Celtic v Heart of Midlothian - Scottish Cup Final

Tough one for the Jambos. (Photo by Craig Foy/SNS Group via Getty Images)

It came after they battled back from 2-0 down to 2-2, then getting getting the game to 3-3 after Leigh Griffiths handed Celtic the lead again. A battle between the skippers has become a talking point though.

Throughout the match, Jambos captain Naismith and his opposite number Brown were engaged in a constant battle. During the first half, the maroon man was perhaps lucky to be on the park.

Referee John Beaton missed what appeared to be a stamp by Naismith on Brown, play waved on in Mount Florida. It resulted in speculation on social media and from pundits as to whether Naismith would face retrospective action.

Celtic v Heart of Midlothian - Scottish Cup Final

No action for Naismith despite his Celtic tackle. (Photo by Craig Williamson/SNS Group via Getty Images)

But outgoing compliance officer Claire Whyte has reviewed the incident and has deemed no clear and obvious error has been made, meaning the Hearts captain’s challenge will go unpunished.

 

Celtic midfielder Brown got in Naismith’s face after the third goal and the pair appeared to have words after Kristoffer Ajer scored Celtic’s winning penalty. Focus for Hearts now turns to the Championship.

Ayr United travel to Tynecastle on Saturday before Arbroath come next. Hearts are currently top of the league with a game in hand over nearest challengers Dunfermline Athletic.

NTOF now offers a YouTube channel featuring exclusive interviews, post-match discussion, in-depth debate, and much more – LIKE and SUBSCRIBE and don’t miss any of our videos.

Have something to tell us about this article?