Derby County keeper David Marshall and Manchester City star Caroline Weir have claimed the Scotland Player of the Year awards.

Voted for by the fans, the pair have won their awards for contributions to the national team in 2020, in what has been a topsy-turvy year full of highs and lows.

Manchester City Women Training Session

Weir’s picked up an award. (Photo by Tom Flathers/Manchester City FC via Getty Images)

Shelley Kerr’s side narrowly missed out on tournament qualification like they achieved in 2018, but Weir still impressed, becoming a standout figure in midfield and captaining the team on occasion.

She was also FIFA Puskas Award 2020 nominee for her stunning effort on Manchester City duty. Marshall meanwhile stole the show on the men’s scene, helping secure a national triumph.


Scotland have qualified for Euro 2020, a first major tournament since 1998. The Derby County keeper was massive in achieving this, becoming a penalty shootout hero in both the Euro 2020 semi-final and final play-off matches.

Marshall’s scooped the men’s award. (Photo by Ian MacNicol/Getty Images)

He also turned in numerous displays too that came with clean sheets as Steve Clarke’s men built their foundation off hard work and steeliness in defence. It’s well-deserved awards for two players who have given Scotland fans plenty of memories.

NTOF now offers a YouTube channel featuring exclusive interviews, post-match discussion, in-depth debate, and much more – LIKE and SUBSCRIBE and don’t miss any of our videos.

Have something to tell us about this article?