Scotland’s Steve Clarke, St Johnstone’s Callum Davidson, Rangers’ Steven Gerrard and Livingston’s David Martindale have been nominated for the Scottish Football Writers Association’s William Hill Manager of the Year award.

Clarke has been nominated courtesy of his achievements with the national team. He has managed to guide the country to its first major tournament since 1998 by booking a spot at Euro 2020 this summer, achieving this through a penalty shootout win over Serbia last year.


Clarke – alongside managers from Livingston, Rangers and St Johnstone – has been nominated for the SFWA Manager of the Year award. (Photo by ANDY BUCHANAN/AFP via Getty Images)

Davidson has had sensational first year in charge of St Johnstone. Formerly a Saints player and part of Tommy Wright’s coaching team, he has secured a top six place in the Scottish Premiership and a historic League Cup victory. St Johnstone are also in the Scottish Cup semi-finals and it’s earned Davidson the SFWA Manager of the Year nod.

Livingston manager Martindale has been rewarded for his impact in West Lothian. Having been with the Lions in different capacities from their League One days, Martindale took over from Gary Holt last year and didn’t suffer defeat in his first 14 games, securing a top six spot and finishing the League Cup as runners-up.

Rangers boss Gerrard meanwhile has been given a thumbs up after the Ibrox side won the Scottish Premiership for the first time since returning to the league. Gerrard managed to stop Celtic winning 10 Premiership titles in a row while winning his first piece of silverware as Rangers manager, the club two games away from an invincible league season.

NTOF now offers a YouTube channel featuring exclusive interviews, post-match discussion, in-depth debate, and much more – LIKE and SUBSCRIBE and don’t miss any of our videos.

Have something to tell us about this article?