Steve Clarke has announced his Scotland squad for World Cup 2022 qualifiers against Denmark, Moldova and Austria – with Manchester United midfielder Scott McTominay injured.

McTominay has been an ever-present for head coach Clarke in the last 12 months across defence and midfield but the Manchester United players misses out with injury this time. Captain Andy Robertson and Kieran Tierney have passed fit after fitness concerns.

Manchester United Training Session

McTominay is out. (Photo by Matthew Peters/Manchester United via Getty Images)

Lewis Ferguson has received his first call-up while goalkeeping duo Liam Kelly and Zander Clark are also called upon. Usual number one David Marshall misses out after being relegated to third choice at Derby County.

Scotland took five points from their opening three qualification matches against Austria, Israel and Faroe Island earlier this year. It’s the first time the squad have gathered since a group stage elimination from Euro 2020 this summer.


Euro 2020 semi-finalists Denmark come first on September 1st followed by Moldova’s visit to Hampden Park 72 hours later. Clarke’s squad then jet out to Austria for their third match in six days. Here is the full squad for next month’s matches.

Lewis Ferguson is set to return for Aberdeen against St Mirren

Ferguson is in. (Photo by Ross MacDonald/SNS Group via Getty Images)

Goalkeepers: Zander Clark (St. Johnstone), Craig Gordon (Heart of Midlothian), Liam Kelly (Motherwell).

Defenders: Liam Cooper (Leeds United), Declan Gallagher (Aberdeen), Grant Hanley (Norwich City), Jack Hendry (Oostende), Scott McKenna (Nottingham Forrest), Stephen O’Donnell (Motherwell), Nathan Patterson (Rangers), Andy Robertson (Liverpool), Greg Taylor (Celtic), Kieran Tierney (Arsenal).

Midfielders: Stuart Armstrong (Southampton), Lewis Ferguson (Aberdeen), Billy Gilmour (Norwich City), John McGinn (Aston Villa), Callum McGregor (Celtic), Kenny McLean (Norwich City), David Turnbull (Celtic).

Forwards: Ché Adams (Southampton), Ryan Christie (Celtic), Lyndon Dykes (Queen’s Park Rangers), Ryan Fraser (Newcastle United), James Forrest (Celtic), Kevin Nisbet (Hibernian).

NTOF now offers a YouTube channel featuring exclusive interviews, post-match discussion, in-depth debate, and much more – LIKE and SUBSCRIBE and don’t miss any of our videos.

Have something to tell us about this article?